When Was Standstill Agreement Signed

On October 15, 2021 by heart

Some indigenous leaders of the princely states tried to buy time by declaring that they would sign the status quo agreement, but not the instrument of accession, until they had time to decide. In response, the Indian government took the position that it would only sign status quo agreements with states that had acceded to them. [4] On August 15, 1947, the fixed date and day of India`s independence, all the princely states within India, within India, within India, within four, signed both the instrument of accession and the status quo agreement with India. [4]. The exceptions were Hyderabad, a large state in central South India, which was expanded by two months, and three small states in Gujarat: Junagadh and its subsidiaries (Mangrol and Babariawad). [5] According to K.M. Munshi, who was appointed Indian agent general in Hyderabad, the Indians felt that the conclusion of a status quo agreement with Hyderabad meant that India had lost control of Hyderabad`s affairs. The Hyderabad State Congress rejected it because it was seen by the Indian government as a sign of weakness. [16] V. P. Menon said Nizam and his advisers see the deal as a respite in which Indian troops would be withdrawn and the state could build its position to assert its independence.

[17] The new delegation obtained only minor amendments to the previous draft agreement. [12] It stipulated that all administrative agreements and arrangements that existed at the time between the British Crown and Nizam would continue to exist with the Indian government. These include defence, foreign affairs and communication (the three issues normally dealt with in the instrument of accession). Agents would be exchanged between Hyderabad and India. The Indian government has agreed to relinquish the functions of precedence. The standstill agreement should remain in force for a period of one year. [13] The agreement was signed by Nizam on November 29, 1947. [14] Two key documents that are supposed to be attractive to the leaders of the princely states. The first was the status quo agreement and the second was the instrument of accession. The status quo agreement, which confirmed that the practices and arrangements that existed between the princely states and British India would henceforth be continued by independent India.

Instrument of accession by which the sovereign of the princely states approved the accession of his kingdom to independent India. The nature of the subject varied. The state of Jammu and Kashmir, which joined India and Pakistan, decided to remain independent. She proposed to sign status quo agreements with the two gentlemen. Pakistan immediately agreed, but India called for further talks. The draft status quo agreement was formulated on 3 June 1947 by the political department of the British-Indian government. The agreement provided that all administrative arrangements of “common interest” that existed at the time between the British Crown and a particular signatory state would continue unchanged between the signatory rule (India or Pakistan) and the state until new arrangements were concluded. Issues of common interest have been defined in a separate timetable.

During the discussion, Jawaharlal Nehru, India`s future prime minister, doubted that the deal only covers “administrative” issues. Mohammad Ali Jinnah, the future governor-general of Pakistan, said he believed this should be the case. [2] The instrument of accession signed by the Maharaja with his own unique clauses was considered an almost temporary agreement between J&K and India, but just like other princely states, namely Hyderabad and Travancore, had its own clauses that were included in their instruments of accession, which were watered down in due course, and these princely states fully acceded to the Constitution of India, as well as J&K`s membership clauses. .

Comments are closed.